Don’t forget to vote on the two Southwark Council by-elections for College and Newington wards

News Desk (05 May, 2016)

The two elections were called after Southwark MPs Helen Hayes and Neil Coyle announced their resignation from the council. Scroll down for the full list of candidates.



Southwark Council’s Newington and College ward seats are up for grabs this week as the council by-election takes place on May 5, at the same time as the mayoral and London Assembly elections, writes Alex Yeates…

The two by-elections were triggered as former councillors turned Labour Members of Parliament Neil Coyle and Helen Hayes stepped down earlier this year.

Mr Coyle, the former Newington ward councillor, is now MP for Southwark and South Bermondsey, while Ms Hayes, the former College ward councillor, is MP for Dulwich and West Norwood.

Both seats are being battled over by candidates from the Conservative Party, the Liberal Democrats, the All People’s Party, UKIP, the Green Party and Labour.

Newington ward is being contested by seven candidates as Michelle Baharier, an independent, is also running.

She said: “There are too many people involved in the council today who don’t stand up for the rights of local and disabled people.

“The council is too often used by careerists as a way to get into Westminster. I’d like to go back to the old way of politics where I serve my community and the people who elected me.”

Among the parties campaigning is Southwark’s own All People’s Party which was founded in the borough in 2014. Denis Pougin, the All People’s Party College ward candidate, said: “If I am elected, I will work hard every day to provide better housing for residents and ensure that leaseholders are given value for money from the council.

“I will protect and support local business owners so we can continue to build a vibrant local economy and take measures to ensure there will be enough school places for our children in Southwark.”


Newington Ward candidates

Siobhan Gige Aarons – Conservative Party

Terry Adewale – All People’s Party

Michelle Deborah Baharier – Independent

James Coldwell – Labour

Nick Hooper – Green

Martin Shapland – Liberal Democrat

Gawain Howard Wilkinson Towler – UKIP


College Ward candidates

Kate Bramson – Conservative Party

Brigid Gardner – Liberal Democrat

Denis Pougin – All People’s Party

Toby Prescott – UKIP

Dale Leslie Rapley – Green Party

Catherine Anne – Labour Party


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.